This Is Icelandic Indie Music (Vol. 2)

This Is Icelandic Indie Music - Vol. 2

  • Tracklist
  • 1. Mammút - Blóðberg
  • 2. Ojba Rasta - Ég veit ég vona
  • 3. FM Belfast - Brighter Days
  • 4. Agent Fresco - Dark Water
  • 5. Benny Crespo's Gang - Birthmarks
  • 6. Leaves - Ocean
  • 7. Mono Town - Peacemaker
  • 8. Júníus Meyvant - Color Decay
  • 9. Lay Low - Gently
  • 10. Tilbury - Turbulence
  • 11. Vök - Before
  • 12. Hymnalaya - In My Early Years*
  • 13. Snorri Helgason - Kveðja
  • *Not featured on vinyl release, but included with digital download
  • Available on
  • CD
  • LP
  • Digital

The second installment in Record Records’ compilation series This Is Icelandic Indie Music. The first one came out in the spring of 2013 and it was the biggest selling compilation that was released in Iceland that year.

This Is Icelandic Indie Music Vol. 2 features thirteen tracks by thirteen Record Records artists, including four previously unreleased. The compilation will be available on CD, vinyl and digitally. The physical copies are available online via the Record Records store and the digital version is available worldwide in all main digital download stores.
The last few months have been great for indie rock band Mammút. Their third full length album Komdu til mín svarta systir was the most praised album released in Iceland last year. It was chosen the album of the year by Morgunblaðið, Fréttablaðið, Fréttatíminn and The Reykjavík Grapevine and it also received prizes at the Icelandic Music Awards and Kraumur Short List. Reggae band Ojba Rasta followed up their magnificent 2012 self-titled debut with Friður last year and it includes popular radio hits such as “Einhvernvegin svona” and “Ég veit, ég vona”. The Record Records newcomers FM Belfast have released their third album that’s entitled Brighter Days. One of the most anticipated releases of 2014 is the sophomore album by jazz infused math rockers Agent Fresco. 2014 marks the return of alternative rock band Benny Crespo’s Gang who will follow up their brilliant debut album from 2007, “Birthmarks” is their first release since the brilliant 2010 single “Night Time”. See You In The Afterglow is the most vibrant album by pristine guitar rock outfit Leaves, “Ocean” is the second and recalls 60s pop sensibility of artists such as The Walker Brothers and Phil Spector. Pixies touring buddies and KEXP-lauded pop outfit Mono Town released their long awaited debut album in the spring of 2014. In The Eye Of The Storm features the haunting Iceland radio hit “Peacemaker” which is just a topping of a great album. The newest Record Records signee is a young singer songwriter from the Vestmann Islands (a small archipelago based south of Iceland) called Júníus Meyvant. We expect nothing but great things from this utterly talented musician. The substantial female singer songwriter Lay Low released her fourth self-produced studio album Talking About The Weather in late 2013. It’s an outstanding album and a great add-on to her rich catalog of albums. The distinguished indie pop band Tilbury released their solid sophomore album in the fall of 2013. Northern Comfort is a delicate and sometimes chilly album with synth drenched songs about love and the hunt for love. Vök, the winners of Iceland’s Music Experiments, created a fair amount of buzz with their highly confident debut EP, Tension. Hymns, the sweet and heartwarming debut of neo-folk outfit Hymnalaya made them some fans in the lines of Of Monsters and Men and Seattle’s radio station KEXP. Snorri Helgason’s richest and possibly his delicate album to date is also the debut album for Snorri Helgason the band. Autumn Skies is performed by Snorri himself and also his band that features people from múm, Amiina, Moses Hightower, Hjaltalín and other stalwarts of Iceland’s blossoming music scene.