Floating Harmonies

Floating Harmonies

  • Tracklist
  • 1. Be a Man
  • 2. Beat Silent Need
  • 3. Color Decay
  • 4. Neon Experience
  • 5. Domestic Grace Man
  • 6. Hailslide
  • 7. Mighty Backbone
  • 8. Gold Laces
  • 9. Signals
  • 10. Manos
  • 11. Pearl in Sandbox
  • 12. Floating Harmonies
  • Available on
  • CD
  • LP - 2xLP in gatefold sleeve
  • Digital

Júníus Meyvant has spent a couple of years on his debut album. The album titled “Floating Harmonies” was released on July 8, 2016 on Record Records.

Floating Harmonies was recorded at various locations in Iceland such as Orgelsmiðjan and Finnland. Engineered by Magnús Øder, Finnur Hákonarson, Andri Ólafsson and Júníus Meyvant. Mixed by Magnús Øder.

Júníus’ band, that has now been named after this debut album (Floating Harmonies) is formed by Árni Magnússon, Kristofer Rodriguez and Júníus’ brothers, Guðmundur Óskar and Ólafur Rúnar.

The album artwork is a painting by Júníus Meyvant.

Júníus Meyvant is the artist name of Westman Islands born singer-songwriter Unnar Gísli Sigurmundsson. As a young boy he was an eccentric to a small degree and he only loved two things, skateboarding and painting. Every now and then he asked the Muses if he should learn to play an instrument but his wild and free behavior terminated his dreams as he was quickly suspended out of music school. All through his teens he rambled on without even considering becoming a musician or even playing any instrument.

In his early twenties Unnar stumbled upon a beat up guitar at his parents’ house and started noodling around. By playing the guitar he managed to tame his inner beast and his sense for songs and melodies burst like rockets. The uncontrollable urge for writing music and constant flow of ideas kept him tossing and turning every night and day forever and a day. For a while he filtered his ideas through a band that didn’t live up to his creative requirements so he decided to undertake his alter ego Júníus Meyvant.

The sound of Júníus Meyvant is a rich and afflicted take on freaky folk pop with a familiar and soulful feel. The feeling you get from listening to Júníus equally as comfortable as resting under a thick wool blanket with a hot cup of cocoa in or even when one settles with an exotic beverage on a hot sandy beach far and away.
2014 saw the release and success of his debut single, “Color Decay”. The single caused quite a stir in his homeland as it peaked at #1 on National Radio 2 for a few weeks and caught the ears of KEXP’s Programming Director Kevin Cole who picked it as the song of the year.
In 2015 Júníus’ finally released his first physical release, a self-titled and praised EP. Denmark’s premier music magazine Gaffa said: “generously melodic material and extraordinary soulful and pleasant listening”.
Júníus was the star of the Iceland Music Awards (I.M.A.) in the year 2015 as he won the award for the Best Song and as the Best Newcomer. In the year 2016 he received two nominations at the I.M.A., best male singer and for the best song.